New Mexico New Deal Sites November 2018 - Photo #254 - Albuquerque Lew Wallace Elementary School

Photo: 12 November 2018
Lew Wallace Elementary School in Albuquerque, historical marker, which says:
Lew Wallace Elementary School, built in 1934, replaced the Fourth Ward School shown in this 1893 view. The Albuquerque public school system was established in 1891, and in 1893 the city was divided into four wards, each with its own school. The Fourth Ward School was destroyed by a fire in 1933, and the Federal Public Works Administration paid for its replacement in the state's first such project. The new school was named after Lew Wallace, New Mexico governor from 1878 to 1881 and author of the famous novel Ben-Hur. The school was designed by Architect Louis Hesselden in Territorial Revival style."
  1. Edna Heatherington Bergman, Louis Hesselden, NMA July-August 1978, University of Mexico Digital Repository, accessed 29 November 2018.